On the Passing of Milo…

On the Passing of Milo

We laid our child to rest today
His essence is no more
Our hearts are ripped asunder
And strewn upon the floor

Your soul must be in heaven now
With ears laid back, eyes closed against the wind
I miss my friend so much
It seems my heart will never mend

We laid our child to rest today
His favorite toy we let him keep
He looked so peaceful lying there
I thought he might just be asleep

You saved my life one Saturday morn
And ran down the hall as I lay alone
You may not know it but you saved my life
Every day when I came home

You waited faithfully by the door
Always excited to see me
And turned around so I could pick you up
To kiss your belly while you licked yours truly

Your soul must be in heaven now
I hope you’ve found a sunny spot to lay
To wait for me to come to you
I so look forward to that day.

With much love,
Steve

To readers: As we grieve the passing our of ‘heart dog’ Milo, we publish words from the heart. We cannot express well enough how we feel but our attempts seem to help us move one step forward toward recovery. These are just attempts to get us by. If you have lost your heart dog, you know our loss. Please share your experience with us — I will post your loss story, poem, or contribution for helping those who have just lost a soul right on this post.

Warmly, Pat and Steve Workman (lost souls of Milo JRT)

IMG_2025

BassLakeCamping2013 IMG_1979 IMG_2026

14 thoughts

  1. My sympathies for Milo your baby. I am so sorry for your loss. I know he will be missed. Sue White

    ________________________________

  2. I know exactly what are you passing through right now. I’m so sorry. Nobody should loss their ‘heart dog’.
    For me it’s been almost a year since I lost my baby, my sweet heart dog and I still miss him so much!
    I pray for you guys, so our Lord may bring peace and contentment to your hearts.
    Blessing!

  3. My sincere condolences on Milo’s passing.

    You captured so beautifully how I felt on the passing of each and every one of my pets during my lifetime.

    Our furry family members add so much more joy and comfort to our lives than we can possibly reciprocate.

    A quote from St. John Chrysostom “They whom we love and lose are no longer where they were before. They are now wherever we are.”

    Peace

    Barbara

    “Be The Change”

    Barbara Frasier

    Executive Car Leasing

    323-654-5000

    befrasier@executivecarleasing.com

    _____

    • Barbara, thank you for your kind words — I know many have felt our pain. I wish that dogs could live one day more than our own lives. What a day that would be. Thank you again. Steve and Pat

  4. Dear Pat and Steve, I know all too well the pain and heartbreak of losing several beloved pets through my lifetime so far. It never gets easier or less painful. I am so sorry for your loss of dear sweet Milo. I didn’t write this, however I hope it helps in some small way.
    Letter From Your Pet In Heaven
    To my dearest family,
    Some things I’d like to say.
    But first of all, to let you know,
    That I arrived okay.
    I’m writing this from the Bridge.
    Here I dwell with God above.
    Here there’s no more tears of sadness.
    Here is just eternal love.
    Please do not be unhappy
    Just because I’m out of sight.
    Remember that I am with you
    every morning, noon and night.
    That day I had to leave you
    When my life on earth was through,
    God picked me up and hugged me
    And He said, “I welcome you.
    It’s good to have you back again,
    You were missed while you were gone.
    As for your dearest family,
    They’ll be here later on.”
    God gave me a list of things,
    That he wished for me to do.
    And foremost on the list,
    Was to watch and care for you.
    And when you lie in bed at night
    The day’s chores put to flight,
    God and I are closest to you…
    In the middle of the night.
    When you think of my life on earth,
    And all those loving years,
    Because you are only human,
    They are bound to bring you tears.
    But do not be afraid to cry:
    It does relieve the pain.
    Remember there would be no flowers,
    Unless there was some rain.
    I wish that I could tell you
    All that God has planned.
    If I were to tell you,
    You wouldn’t understand.
    But one thing is for certain,
    Though my life on earth is over
    I’m closer to you now,
    Than I ever was before.
    There are rocky roads ahead of you
    And many hills to climb;
    But together we can do it
    By taking one day at a time.
    It was always my philosophy
    And I’d like it for you too;
    That as you give unto the world,
    The world will give to you.
    If you can help somebody
    Who’s in sorrow and pain,
    Then you can say to God at night…
    “My day was not in vain.”
    And now I am contented…
    That my life was worthwhile.
    Knowing as I passed along
    I made somebody smile.
    God says: “If you meet somebody
    Who is sad and feeling low;
    Just lend a hand to pick him up,
    As on your way you go.
    When you’re walking down the street
    With me on your mind;
    I’m walking in your footsteps
    only half a step behind.
    And when it’s time for you to go…
    from that body to be free.
    Remember you’re not going…
    you’re coming here to me.”
    -Author Unknown

    • Jean, if crying more makes us heal, well I can tell you now, I’m healing, healing, healing, for sure. It doesn’t feel that way but I know we will. These words are needed and thank you so much for sharing. I find it hard every day to go about my life and enjoy the little things I once did. I know it will pass, but for now my heart has a hole. Thank you again. The community has been so good to us and the power of love is coming through — I feel better with each comment of empathy that I receive. Thank you all. Pat

  5. I believe animals are reincarnated angels sent here to save us. They are still here, but just above your reach. Just look up. I’m so sorry to hear about Milo. They create such important memories that we’ll never forget.

    • I believe it too. We are waiting for signs that he is present. When I was a little girl, about 11, I had a dog that had a soul like Milo. I always believed that Milo was my angel then, and came back to me because I needed him so. He has done his duty and I am thankful. If the Gods should desire it so, then I would welcome my Milo back in a heartbeat. Thank you wolfladysue

  6. I am so sorry for your loss of Milo. I too know what you are feeling. Within a year I lost my cat (Kitty) and my little baby girl Amber (dog). I miss them so very much, but I know one day I will be with them again and I swear once in a while I still hear them. These are not the first I lost and I also know they will not be the last. ❤ To honor all my fur babies in heaven I will always continue to adopt. May you have peace knowing that one day you will be together again. ❤

    • Christine, sorry for the loss of Kitty and Amber. OMGoodness, what can we do. They don’t live long enough. Yes, we will see them again and I believe that place is truly heaven. When I die, I want to go to Milo’s heaven. Thank you for adopting and saving a life. After all, they save us as well. I have saved a number of dogs and the feeling I get is amazing. After I accept and move on, I will work to serve another dog and help with rescue. I don’t know if and when I can own another dog. Too soon to even think about it now. I will relish in the beauty that was our Milo and take the pain with it until I feel no more pain. Thank you. Steve and Pat

  7. Anyone who has loved and lost a pet knows the pain you are feeling. Some of us are fortunate enough to find that one dog (or cat) that we truly bond with; our minds, hearts and souls connect. I have had 9 dogs over the 20 years and I have loved them all but there was that one, my soul dog Baxter. I think I let him in all the way because we adopted him at 9 weeks and I felt it was OK to open my heart to him knowing we’d have a lifetime together. He read my moods and I read his. I brought joy to his every day by throwing his ball and drowning him in love. He brought joy to mine just by being in it. We were so close it was hard to explain. He came to us because we had lost two dogs in 6 months-one through a negligent vet and the other to a drunk driver-and our remaining dog had no idea how to be an ‘only’ dog. We took her to a shelter and, after test driving several dogs, she picked Baxter, the light of my life. Our Golden Girl raised him, she taught him everything a dog dog needed to know and tattled when he did things he wasn’t supposed to do. One day Baxter just didn’t seem himself – he just didn’t chase his ball with the gusto he usually did. I insisted on taking him to the vet the next day, then the emergency clinic that night and he passed within 3 days at the age of 26 months. His lab reports weren’t even back yet. My baby, my heart, my soul dog had died of leukemia. My Golden girl took it as badly as I did. She searched the house, wailing. For me, I just shut down for a week. I sobbed non-stop. Couldn’t sleep. Couldn’t eat. Didn’t answer the phone or the door, just cried. I was completely inconsolable. It took me a month to start to turn my thinking around and realize the only thing I could possibly do to help make things right was adopt another dog. Not to replace Baxter, that can never happen, but to save a life and honor his. I’m telling you this because I felt what you are feeling; 7 years later I can still go right back to that cold place. Not only did I lose my boy, I lost an opportunity to do something with him I had always thought he’d be perfect at-pet therapy visits. Although these years have passed and I still hold that special spot for him, I am blessed now with two dogs who go with me to visit hospitals, nursing homes and special needs classes. You will begin, at some point, to accept Milo’s passing and open your heart again. May your cherished memories help you along this journey. May your heart find peace.

    • Christy, thank you so much for giving us this gift of openness and sharing your loss. It has me in tears, again, and I will share with Steve. We are like to souls, lost, looking for something, anything from Milo that will reconnect us with him. But, I know nothing but our memories will and right not that does not seem to be enough. Thank so much. This is helpful. I’m glad that you had your soul dog Baxter and the others who are special to you. You’re lucky to have been surrounded by so much love. I’m so afraid to open my heart up again – the pain to too intense right now. But, like you said, we will know when it’s right. Warmly xoxo Pat

Leave a Reply

