For the many ti…

For the many times…

I kissed and nibbled on your black nose
like a fresh, wet little truffle from a dewy forest
I cleaned and caressed between your toes,
what were those soft little webs for?
I massaged your little body, pulling and stretching
how I enjoyed making you feel warm and fuzzy
I got to smell the insides your warm soft velvety ears,
a secret indulgence that I shared with few
I plucked and combed your little rough shiny coat,
it was my pleasure to care for and groom you
I cleaned the sleep from your eyes as you awoke,
always polite and tolerant, letting me have my way
I felt your nudges as I readied to leave for work,
you somehow always knew if it’d be brief or long
I enjoyed your kisses of silver and gold, only more precious
your breath was like an angel’s, always fresh and clean

Thank you, Milo, for sharing moments of your life with me
For your patient, forgiving, and gentle manner
We shared a special bond, I couldn’t have asked for more
I will cherish these memories for the rest of my life

I know your world now offers plenty of lemon verbena to nibble
Plenty of warm fuzzy toys you can suckle as you wish
There’ll be plenty of treats and walks in the woods
And trickling water that you can play in and small fuzzy mice to chase
Yes, you will find all your favorite things there
Because, Milo, you were a very good boy

To Milo JRT, my heart dog. I wrote you this little poem to honor your memory. It helps me to grieve you recent passing and allows me perhaps to accept what I cannot change.

Mommy Pat

One thought

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. Losing one that you love is not easy at all. I have a few that are at the Rainbow Bridge and I think of all of them often. I miss them so much, but I have solace in knowing that one day we all be together, and in honor of each and everyone I will always adopt another. Love never dies, and your heart continues even when it is hurting to make room for another to love. ❤

Leave a Reply

